Pulse width modulation?
  • Hello from Russia ;)

I am new to Audulus. It looks and sounds awesome for me :)

Some of my wishes for OSC improvements:

- pulse width modulation input for square wave osc;
    - ability to control sawtooth rise / fall time (want to modulate it via the same input as for pulse width control);
    - One-cycle sampler OSC (may be one or some more wave cycles can be used for better reality) - ability to use custom waves as OSC source (sampled from real instruments or constructed by myself using third party tools)
    - FM input for any OSC (for building DX-style operators, not only sine as inside DX7, but also like TX81z too with different waveforms)

If one-cycle OSC can be released, it will be good addition to it - ability to create sequences of different waveforms (crossfaded) - some kind of complex OSC.

Another thing that I wish is formant filter for building "talking" patches (with formant sequencer).

Once again, thank you very much for the Audulus!

Best regards,
    Denis.

• @whitemix, Denis, welcome!

Those are great suggestions. Do you think all the options should be in the current Osc node or should there be several other Osc nodes for different cases? My only worry is how to pack in a lot of those options into the current UI.

Also, I think you can do FM using a little math and the pitch input.

Cheers from San Francisco,
    - Taylor
  • @whitemix

Hi Denis, greetings from London! I think a number of things you are asking for can already be done with the available nodes.

1) PWM Osc can be made using a saw tooth with the 'less than' node. Have a look at the attached patch file and in there you can see such a set up. Increase the pulse width dial to increase the pulse width, I have kept the pitch very low so you can see the effect on the waveform monitor.