Mac Audio Unit missing components?
  • I live inside Ableton, and would really like to simply make a pianoroll sequence there, and work with learning Audulus 3. I'm new to Audulus as is, and I find picking modules apart really helpful compared to just trying to attach nodes together.. The keyboard node should really be far more documented than it is... i have no only learned by digging through the Keyboard module, and went from there on how to attach a DAW sequencer.

My biggest issues now are that I'd like to design with Audulus inside my DAW and I can't seem to find certain things that are quite rate limiting. Can someone help point me to the correct locations?

1. Where are the modules? They're missing from the right click menu, and both Create menus. Are they even accessible without importing a project elsewhere?

2. Copy/Paste... this seems to be strange whether I try to use it in standalone mode or via Audio Unit. e.g. I can lasso a bunch of nodes, right click on one and get a Copy circle... i go into a sub patch and right click, i get a node menu... so UX seems broken here... I often get that cmd-v also doesn't work, but I can consistently go to the edit menu and paste without issue. I can't even Paste in the Audio Unit... at all :( I get that the DAW somewhat interferes with what you can do inside an Audio Unit, but is there a button somewhere that perhaps I'm just overlooking?
  • 1. right click, library of babel (bottom), modules :)

2. i use cmd+c/v for copy paste - does that work better?

also, shortcuts don't work in the AU because you're using the hosts' shortcuts - there's currently no way to override the hosts' shortcuts, but the menu operations still work.

• Sorry I would have posted a photo but I didn't see a 'attach' option when creating the post. Take a look... I've attached a photo of the right click menu for both Standalone app, and the Audio Unit inside Ableton Suite 9.5.