The "right way" to modulate filter cut off with ADSR
  • Hey guys, I'm new to audulus. I'm not new to synthesis, and I've a got a real modular system... Have been reading the forums and watching the videos, trying to understand audulus workflow, I'm starting to get it, but there are stuff that maybe have the most effective way of doing.

Basically I'm fooling around with MIDI triggers and the value meter, trying to understand how the nodes work, what values they output, etc...

I've put together a very simple patch, I wanted to modulate the filter cutoff of the LP filter, and since the envelope node outputs a max value of 0.5, I had to multiply it by 2, and then multiply the result (1) by 18000 (which is the full spectrum of the LP filter), is that right?

Ok, now to be able to modulate the ammount of modulation (what a sentence!) I had to use a level node. It works, but I think it must be a better way of doing this that I haven't "seen" in my mind yet.

I'll attach the patch here.

Thanks for your help!
    filtercutoffenvmod.audulus
  • @AlbertGauer, many of us use the Crossfade node to do this. I have to admit, it's one of the most clever bits of gimickry I've seen in Audulus. I've attached an image with an example.

Basic idea is that the ADSR's env goes from 0 to 1. The Crossfade node's knob goes from 0 to 1. So you can "crossfade" between your low and high cutoff values by modulating the crossfade's knob.
    filtercutoffenvmod.audulus 2015-03-05 08-19-09.png
    1024 x 791 - 76K
  • @jjthrash, thank you so much!

Wow that´s way simpler, clever indeed!! You can restrict the frequency band that you want the filter to operate in, nice! :D

Two things I didn´t think about, now learned! Starting to love more and more Audulus...

One question:

If I stick the value meter node on the ADSR´s env output I only get 0.5 tops, from where did you get the 1 value? I tried but couldn´t set up max or min values for the ADSR output...