About the Random node (on iPad)
  • Greetings,

First post here. I'm fairly new to Audulus, but already seriously hooked...

I've been working on some patches that make a lot of use of the Random node and I've noticed some aspects of this node's behavior that I hadn't anticipated.

Originally, I created a patch in which I added a number of Random nodes that were sampled via a common clock. It worked exactly as I hoped it would.

Later, when I re-loaded the patch, I noticed that all the Random nodes were producing identical number streams. I was able to revert to the previous behavior by deleting and then Undoing the delete, one by one. Not a very practical solution though. I'm guessing that each Random node is initialized with the same seed value when the patch is loaded.

I have found some workarounds to this, but would somehow like to find a way to get each node to produce a different number stream, even when sampled via the same clock.

Any thoughts?

Cheers.

-Rick
  • ha! that's kinda funny. not so random after all, eh? @taylor will know more.

i think the random node and the noise node are the same (it says the noise node is just the random + a lpf in the documentation), but i haven't had this problem with the noise node. does seem odd though.
  • welcome, btw! :)
  • Thanks, happy to join the community.

Actually, I did some experimenting with multiple Noise nodes and got the same result as for the Random nodes (not surprising, considering it's constituents).
  • I have run up against this. I have two ways to deal with it. If I don't I need big random numbers, I use a few digits of my random number here and a few other digits somewhere else.
    Another way is to feed the random generator to several s/h nodes and use non-simultaneous slightly delayed triggers to generate unique values. You can do this by sending a trigger through the LPF set to almost 1 or through the crossfade node with the output feeding back to one of the inputs.