Hi All
  • Hi everyone,

I'm Jon and I've been only really using synths for about a month. I've been trying to learn and have found that Audulus seems to be the best for getting started so nice work on creating a great app!

As I'm new to all this I'll not be putting any patches up anytime soon or asking any noob questions on here but can anyone recommend some good resources to go to to learn the basics of synthesisers and how to construct them? I've of course seen the tutorial vids for Audulus but am still having a few issues getting things to work the way I want, mostly because I've been too dependent on synths that have already been 'constructed'. I love the possibilities of this though so am looking forward to getting stuck in!
  • The Sound on Sound Synthesis series is a must-read for any synth newbie who wants to really understand what's happening under the hood. http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/allsynthsecrets.htm

You do need some patience in the mathy parts, but if you learn half of what it's teaching you you'll be way ahead of most.

Synths that have already been constructed are a lot like a hard-wired patch. They typically have the same signal flow with maybe a few switching options. The confusing and wonderful part about modular synthesis is that you can do almost anything in any combination. Remember that Audulus is modular synthesis on a granular level and as such tutorials for how to use hardware modulars can still tell you a lot about how to work in Audulus.

So welcome, welcome!
  • Good answer by @biminiroad. I find Audulus an excellent way to learn different concepts. But in the end it's just a lot of diving in, absorbing, listening, etc. Even things like learning how an envelope generator works can take a little bit, but once it clicks, you'll be seeing applications for it everywhere and wondering why your other synth apps don't let you do certain things.