Connecting MIDI designer to Audulus with coreMIDI.
  • Does anyone here use MIDI Designer on iOS?

I have no experience with MIDI and am utterly bewildered.

I know that the MIDI Designer can see Audulus, but how the blistering heck do I make a button in MD activate a trigger in Audulus, or a knob in MD control a constant in Audulus?

• Hey Gordon, I don't have MIDI Designer, but you'll want to set up a MIDI Control Change ("MIDI CC") message to control a knob in Audulus. In Audulus, you'll select "Learn MIDI CC" from a Knob's context menu. Then switch to MD and have the trigger send a CC message. Once a message is sent, Audulus will assign that CC to the knob.

A midi CC message has a number and a value. The number is used to determine which knob to change, and the value is the new value for the knob.

Does that help?
    - Taylor
  • It does. Now buttons and knobs work. :-) But not well. :-(. I am multiplying a fixed frequency synth by a constant beaten 0 and 2 into an output, and turning the associated MD knob to attenuate the volumes does work, but if I turn it at anything other than very slowly it crackles.

I'm using an iPad Mini, most recent OS.

• Try adding in a LowPass node (Effects -> LowPass) with the knob set to something very close to 1 (like .999) to smooth out the CC data. So you'd map the CC to a knob on a constant node, then put the output through the LowPass, then use that output to modulate the Level node's knob. Does that help?
  • Ah, I had put in a low pass filter and set it to 0.99 on the dial, because I remembered reading about it on a forum thread, but that wasn't enough. 0.999 improved it, and with 0.9999 it's silky smooth.

Thank you. Now I can build control panels for my patches. :-)
  • Great, glad its working :-) I've made a note about improving the smoothing of MIDI CC values. Audulus should just do that automatically. In the last version, I fixed the smoothing when turning knobs via the UI, but didn't fix CCs!